shrine to the prophet of americana

#tumblrtumblrtumblr (285 posts)

what I love about tumblr blaze is that it forces people to realize how insulated their bubbles are. tumblr IS really good at...

sabertoothwalrus:

acourtofidiots:

sabertoothwalrus:

sabertoothwalrus:

sabertoothwalrus:

what I love about tumblr blaze is that it forces people to realize how insulated their bubbles are. tumblr IS really good at allowing users to curate their own personalized experiences, but it also means that people start to think that the drama, opinions, and experiences of their little online sphere is shared by the majority of tumblr (it’s not), so when they blaze their posts they’re just airing their dirty laundry to people that are outside of their echo chamber, and dealing with the consequences of people not automatically agreeing with them. and let me tell you it is delicious to watch

yes you’re all correct this is about the minors dni omegaverse rpf person

I’m also glad that we’re only getting tumblr blaze now. can you imagine if we had it in 2017 during the height of the voltron fandom

hi OP here! i see you’re talking about me, so here’s my two cents:

if someone is not into the same things as i am, that’s fine. just block and ignore me. i didn’t drag what my writing style and habits are. people CHOSE to look at my profile and put my writing on blast to shame me and humiliate me.

way to go guys 👍🏻

miss julia I am saying this as kindly as possible.

you did not at all deserve any of the death threats you got

you blazed a post telling people to support fanfic writers. people were curious why you would be SO passionate about the subject that you’d spend money to put it on stranger’s blogs outside of your circle, and looked at your blog to see why. you essentially TOLD people to go look at the fanfiction you write. and they found omegaverse mpreg of real ass people who’ve been reduced to parasocial, idealized projections as if they were playthings and not real ass people. and on top of it all, you put a DNI banner on a post that you PAID MONEY TO SHOW TO AS WIDE AN AUDIENCE AS POSSIBLE.

you put on a clown costume and stepped into the spotlight, are you REALLY surprised that people started to point and laugh?

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

nowhere else

baphonnicula:

nowhere else

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

Since we’re doing “tips for those new to Tumblr,” can I please express how much I love it when somebody goes through my archive,...

lawfulgoodness:

Since we’re doing “tips for those new to Tumblr,” can I please express how much I love it when somebody goes through my archive, or starts scrolling through a tag giving likes to a post from 4 years ago, or resharing something I haven’t thought about in 9 years?  I love it.

Absolutely love it.

I love to see people liking things I’ve liked, exploring my interests, getting to know me.  When I see 8 “hearts” in my activity feed from the same person on a series of posts from 2013, I immediately just want to be friends and go get a coffee and ask them what their favorite alignment is, or what comic book character they love, or their favorite movie.

Please feel free to do that.  I know it’s discouraged on some social media platforms, but here on Tumblr we love it.

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

Oh! Just saw my first Blaze post. It was… kinda underwhelming

kontextmaschine:

Oh! Just saw my first Blaze post. It was… kinda underwhelming

And the mainline ads are better now. Devious how they pitched us on ad-free subscriptions and then immediately made it a positive value to turn ads back on.

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

Is this just Automattic filling their own ad space? Wait, the reblog coming from @house-ad, looks like it. Eating your own dog...

Is this just Automattic filling their own ad space? Wait, the reblog coming from @house-ad, looks like it. Eating your own dog food and all.

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

"Great Harassment Campaigns of Tumblr" limited edition commemorative plate series

quoms:

quoms:

“Great Harassment Campaigns of Tumblr” limited edition commemorative plate series

Kickstarter for a series of coins depicting Tumblr’s most legendary exit scams (Arkh Project, Miss Officer and Mr. Truffles, etc.) which goes radio silent after posting a single poorly photoshopped “preliminary coin mockup” and does not refund any of its backers

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

Really fun watching the real-time website culture shift from “Tumblr staff sucks and is incompetent and we hate them” -> Staff...

apricops:

desolationlesbian:

Really fun watching the real-time website culture shift from “Tumblr staff sucks and is incompetent and we hate them” -> Staff starts doing good things but everyone still reflexively hates and bullies them for everything they attempt because we’re all suspicious and hesitant to trust like wounded animals or divorcees who have been hurt before -> “Staff truly understands us finally someone who knows what we want bless thank you so much staff”

enemies to lovers

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

tumblr interaction

pancakeke:

tumblr interaction

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

I’m Christian and respect the order of creation as God intended it but I’m not gonna lie if I could take a massive vat of agar...

notpoppunk:

tomboypolemicist:

I’m Christian and respect the order of creation as God intended it but I’m not gonna lie if I could take a massive vat of agar and grow an alive shopping mall made out of red blood and meat and feed it living human bodies to make it expand larger with more shops and amenities, Without hesitation, Without question I would do exactly that

i just feel at home on this website

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

gotta love how in 2012 Tumblr, all the replies on even slightly weirdly worded posts and replies were like "oh mY GOD what did I...

homunculus-argument:

gotta love how in 2012 Tumblr, all the replies on even slightly weirdly worded posts and replies were like “oh mY GOD what did I just read” and “THIS ENTIRE WEBSITE IS ON DRUGS” and a long series of Superwholock gifs of people flailing and laying face down on the ground and generally overreacting

and in 2022 someone can just calmly post shit like “off I fuck on my weekly journey into the deep murky woods to snort a line of ants off the Woodland Ghoul’s dick” and nobody even comments, they’ll just quietly nod like yeah mood and reblog that shit.

Maybe a faint little “yeah that’s valid” hiddne quietly in the notes.

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

This is the best ad I've gotten since they added the Tumblr Blaze feature thank you tumblr user plaguerightsactivist for using...

scarletbirbs:

This is the best ad I’ve gotten since they added the Tumblr Blaze feature thank you tumblr user plaguerightsactivist for using this new feature correctly

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr is that some kinda super-bisexual flag avatar?

It’s kinda incredible how Tumblr has become the scapegoat of the internet, like I could see any kind of bad opinion on Twitter,...

vicholas:

It’s kinda incredible how Tumblr has become the scapegoat of the internet, like I could see any kind of bad opinion on Twitter, any kind, and there’s gonna be quoteretweets going “😒 this is what happens when ex tumblrinas go outside” even if the tweet in question comes from like. Biden’s lawyer.

Tumblr and Twitter agree that the people who were on Tumblr and then left for Twitter are the problem

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

I actually think the real advantage tumblr has over other websites is the ability of "reblogging" to create posts with...

headspace-hotel:

headspace-hotel:

I actually think the real advantage tumblr has over other websites is the ability of “reblogging” to create posts with contributions from multiple users. This allows people to build on others’ posts, whether that’s derailing them with a terrible joke, drawing the scenario proposed as a comic, answering the question posed originally in lively essay format, or rewriting the previous interaction as a scene in Shakespearean iambic pentameter.

This is also why Tumblr is hard to make profitable. Individual users have relatively little power to create good content. It’s interactions between users that actually creates the good content, and therefore, no one involved in the good stuff on Tumblr can really claim to “own” it or be the “creator.”

Posts have to navigate through Tumblr to pick up the people that can add to them in a constructive way, and then when users interact, the whole interaction can spread across the website as a new evolution of the content. There’s no way to simplify this process.

Theres a whole ecosystem running here. It’s not as simple as Creators and Consumers, and you can’t simplify it to that. That’s not how ART works, let alone posts. There’s symbiosis. The users that do the nitrogen fixation aren’t the ones photosynthesizing. The detritivores can’t also be the predators. The “rappers doing normal shit blog” has a different niche than the person that asks why Lil Wayne has socks on in the jacuzzi, who has a different niche than the person who says “those are his hooves, you bitch!”

It’s like bioavailability, you see. The user that responds “Those are his hooves, you bitch” is like a predator on a high trophic level, unable to directly feed on producers, needing primary consumers to convert the post into a form that makes a punch line possible.

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

I love whoevers in charge of their twitter

staffs-secret-blog:

I love whoevers in charge of their twitter

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

the twitter users. they’re coming

ichinoseasuna:

pissvortex:

the twitter users. they’re coming

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

I got a tumblr, it really was quite great I blog about a lot of things, but mostly what I ate. I thought it was a sweet gig, it...

drtanner:

himborc:

butiki:

crunchbuttsteak:

crunchbuttsteak:

I got a tumblr, it really was quite great

I blog about a lot of things, but mostly what I ate.

I thought it was a sweet gig, it really was quite cushy.

Then they went and banned me, ‘cause all I ate was pussy.

I signed up on tumblr, I didn’t know what to expect.

I thought I could just post and not worry about being fact checked

But once my posts went viral, no one saw my genius

Now all they do is reblog and say “kung pow penis.”

I’m a YA book author, I have a tumblr too

I post a lot of info, for my tumblypoos

But then one day my time was up, I read it on the clock

And now my most famous post is about how I love cock

i made a tumblr, and it didnt go great

whenever i make a post, all i get is hate

arguing with strangers, it really is a slog

i know all about politics, i run a hentai blog

One day I made a Tumblr, now I’ve been here ten years,

I’ve stayed through every update that left the userbase in tears,

And I don’t regret a second, for here’s the truth, you see:

I’m not locked in here with you, friend; you’re locked in here with me.

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

Something I haven't seen mentioned about Blaze is – okay remember all the [tumblr] supremacist contempt for how the timeline...

Something I haven’t seen mentioned about Blaze is – okay remember all the [tumblr] supremacist contempt for how the timeline would just show you tweets you didn’t sign up for, to boost engagement, to make ads worth more?

Now [tumblr] puts posts you didn’t sign up for on your dash and we love it because the site experience being product of distinct individual unapologetic market exchange is truer to the spirit of the old ‘90s internet than all the other algorithmically-massaged-for-mass-marketing stuff out there

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr [tumblr]

also i think it's funny how tumblr was like "you can pay to see someone's posts" and we were all like FUCK you and they were...

dgalerab:

also i think it’s funny how tumblr was like “you can pay to see someone’s posts” and we were all like FUCK you and they were like “… pay to… inflict your own posts… on others?” and we were like

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

tumblr user, drinking a bottle of uncontaminated water in post apocalyptic america: i love this?? this is so pure omg

jiskblr:

pochowek:

staff:

avocados-and-avocadonts:

reserve:

starsarelimitless:

quasi-normalcy:

quasi-normalcy:

kaylapocalypse:

mikkeneko:

eight-times-nine:

bass-borot:

normaler-on-the-outside:

trickytalks:

argumate:

anosognosic:

argumate:

dagny-hashtaggart:

pochowek:

tumblr user, drinking a bottle of uncontaminated water in post apocalyptic america: i love this?? this is so pure omg

tumblr user, finding a miraculously untouched packet of frozen pastries in post-apocalyptic america: beautiful cinnamon roll too good for this world, too pure

tumblr user, succumbing to dehydration in the wilderness of post-apocalyptic america: my hands are literally shaking as I type this

tumblr edgelord, to a booby-trap in post-apocalyptic america, an arrow embedded deep in their chest: i’m sorry, are you triggered? 

tumblr user, attempting to reestablish a pony express mail service across the shattered remnants of post-apocalyptic america: this post is important

tumblr user, standing behind thousands of other refugees from post-apocalyptic america, straining to hear the instructions of the volunteer who is giving them their floor space assignments: say it louder for the people in the back

tumblr user, handing out vials —filled with a cure for the plague which has devastated the world— to the remaining people of post-apocalyptic america: spread this like wildfire

tumblr user, checking the post-apocalyptic town’s notice board for information important to rebuilding: why doesn’t this have more notes??

tumblr user, about to venture out into a dangerous part of the post-apocalyptic world with a small group of volunteers for whom they care for dearly and are concerned about the mental wellbeing of and the impact the adventure could have on them: if you don’t like this unfollow me right now

tumblr user, watching a boy be dragged into the stocks of a post-apocalyptic settlement for the crime of stealing a crust of bread: FREE HIM

Post post modernism

tumblr user, trekking on foot across the burned out plains of post-apocalyptic america in search of refuge for what seems like forever: Is Canada even real?

tumblr user, being offered bark tea to fend off against scurvy in post-apocalyptic america: This tea is HOT!

tumblr user, alone and searching for the warmth and comfort of other humans and being jumped by a group of post-apocalyptic american vigilantes: I came out to have a good time and i’m honestly feeling so attacked right now

tumblr user, caring for a nursery of small children, the last children born into this broken, dying world, gently feeding them watery broth: take a fuckin’ sip babes

tumblr user, watching a suspicious figure approach the gates of their ramshackle settlement in post-apocalyptic america: who is she

tumblr user, looking helplessly at their shattered pole weapon before perishing in the battle circle of post-apocalyptic america: wtf staff

staff replied, post is over

the polar opposite of “mods are asleep, post X”

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

JUST TAKE A SCREENSHOT

sweatermuppet:

stop-using-prev-tags:

JUST TAKE A SCREENSHOT

If you see tags that someone else left on a post and want to share them with your followers (or anyone else who chances across your blog), please, please, PLEASE: don’t use “prev tags,” or “previous tags” or “prev prev tags” or any variation that may occur to you at the moment you’re making that decision.

The very best way on Tumblr to:

  • share that information in the tags with people who follow you, or
  • continue a conversation that the person who said that thing in the tags, or
  • let everyone know how hard you’re cackling at a joke someone made, or
  • whatever other reason you’re drawing attention to someone else’s tags

is to actually add the tag in question to the version of the post as it will appear when you reblog it. A screenshot is the most durable way to do this, since it gets included in all the downstream reblogs from your own, but if you don’t want that for some reason, just replicate the actual tag in question in the tags of your reblog. If you’re absolutely, vehemently against the screenshot, including the tags in question could look like this:

or like this:

OP has some really great tags:

#cool additional commentary tangential to the original topic #user who added the tags didn’t include them in the body of the post but you thought they were important

and I think everyone should see them

The biggest reason to do this is that nobody wants a scavenger hunt. This is especially true when the tags in question are from more than one reblog down the line, or ones that you found in the notes on a different reblog chain.

The other big reason is the durability thing mentioned earlier. Maybe the tags you’re enamored with came from OP, and they decided they didn’t want notifications from the post anymore and deleted it. If you used “omg OP’s tags 😹” with no further clarification, that information is lost forever when OP deletes the post. Same case if OP (or the person you reblogged from) deactivates, or gets deactivated. Actually including the tags in question makes sure that as long as someone is viewing it on your blog (or on any downstream reblog from you, if you used a screenshot) they can see the same thing you did.

Using “prev tags” instead of actually including the tags you’re talking about results in a significant decrease in the usability of the website. Please, just screenshot the tags, or reproduce them in your post.

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr