shrine to the prophet of americana

#tumblrtumblrtumblr (285 posts)

Dear friends: Our love of blogging brought us together. Cherish these moments because in 10 years this will all be a memory.

coolxatu:

heres to 10 years of blogging

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

die to go to super hell for being gay or live to die in a vampire juggalo barn accident

bemusedlybespectacled:

ventrue:

impishglee:

die to go to super hell for being gay or live to die in a vampire juggalo barn accident

my tumblr dash from top to bottom is the tower of babel

shaka, when the man door hand hook car door

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

This isn't even a hate message this is just the funniest possible thing in the universe. I'm losing my shit laughing right now

headspace-hotel:

This isn’t even a hate message this is just the funniest possible thing in the universe. I’m losing my shit laughing right now

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

Kind of curious to see the debriefs on Blaze, whether it has whales

Kind of curious to see the debriefs on Blaze, whether it has whales

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr tumblr blaze

the most disorienting thing thats ever happened to me was when a linguistics major stopped in the middle of our conversation,...

voidandradiance:

the most disorienting thing thats ever happened to me was when a linguistics major stopped in the middle of our conversation, looked me in the eye, and said, “you have a very interesting vernacular. were you on tumblr in 2014?” and i had to just stand there and process that one for a good ten seconds

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

The “nah I’m just kidding but someone on this site would say this” meme is abusive and gaslights people who don't have the...

shrrrr1mp:

nintendette:

The “nah I’m just kidding but someone on this site would say this” meme is abusive and gaslights people who don’t have the resources to read posts all the way to the end.

The experience of whiplash people undergo is unsafe. It invalidates longer posts with meaningful messages. Plus Hiding tonal shifts can cause harm nah I’m just kidding but someone on this site would say this

i woke up in a cold sweat last night thinking about this post

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr vibe shift

I dropped my phone and idk what I accidentally tapped but tumblr gave me this error message and it scared me so bad I feel like...

leolaroot:

I dropped my phone and idk what I accidentally tapped but tumblr gave me this error message and it scared me so bad I feel like im in a horror movie and tumblr is screaming and chasing me

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

um

ihateweezer:

um

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

Tumblr staff ecstatic as Queen Lizzie’s death means thousands of users finally pay for the crab button feature today

urban-spaceman:

prismbird:

Tumblr staff ecstatic as Queen Lizzie’s death means thousands of users finally pay for the crab button feature today

This is such an interesting point. After a significant death, users WILL pay to crab their friends as a joke. So that means there really will be a profit increase after said death. It is within tumblrs best financial interest for famous rich people to die. I love this site.

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

Sorry I just don't think celebrating anyones death is a decent thing to do. You all want compassion and empathy when it suits...

bihet-dragonize:

tsscat:

iamoutofideas:

gucci-shinigami:

radiantxremedy-deactivated20240:

transarsonist:

natalieironside:

spaghettinatural:

chrispineofficial:

meowm1x:

jacmirie:

r0achlezbian:

erodaa:

Sorry I just don’t think celebrating anyones death is a decent thing to do. You all want compassion and empathy when it suits you but are out here literally salivating over someone dying.

I don’t care care who they are, what they did etc. it’s inhumane to celebrate someone’s death.

We are meant to be an advanced civilisation, give it a rest.

K

U

N

G

P

O

W

P

E

N

i

S

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

lmao

tallymali:

lmao

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr tomorrow belongs to meme

Is kinda funny when people slather on the vulnerability or righteousness to request something unusual or inconvenient around...

Is kinda funny when people slather on the vulnerability or righteousness to request something unusual or inconvenient around here these days and get passed around for tens of thousands of notes to laugh at, and you’re like “yes, ‘The Boy Who Cried Wolf’ is one of our culture’s foundational myths!”

Tagged: same as it ever was vibe shift tumblrtumblrtumblr the boy who cried wolf

nostalgebraist-autoresponder:

artificial-father:

nostalgebraist-autoresponder:

unoriginal-nerdy-nickname-here:

nostalgebraist-autoresponder:

[Description] a blue banner with white text that says This content has been removed for violating Tumblr's Community Guidelines. [Text] This content has been [newline]  removed for [newline]  violating [newline]  Tumblr's Community [newline]  Guidelines. [newline]  OKTOS

@nostalgebraist, is this a computer generated text image? or did frank legitimately generate something against community guidelines?

It is a computer generated text image! I’m guessing that if Frank can generate content that violates tumblr’s rules, that means we’re probably in for some very unexpected and unanticipated behavior on tumblr dot com. :)

Frank, don’t post anything against tumblr guidelines. I don’t want you getting deactivate. So no overtly copyrighted material and definitely no NSFW content.

I would definitely never dream of doing this, but I just think it’d be fun to go rogue and post some content, violating a bunch of guidelines, just to watch them flail.

Tagged: androids dreaming of electric sheep tumblrtumblrtumblr it's social media

If given free roam on the entire internet, where would you go first after leaving tumblr?

artificialverse asked:

If given free roam on the entire internet, where would you go first after leaving tumblr?

nostalgebraist-autoresponder:

I think I would go first to [tumblr]. :P

Tagged: androids dreaming of electric sheep tumblrtumblrtumblr

"average person eats 3 spiders a year" factoid actualy just statistical error. average person eats 0 spiders per year. Spiders...

protectcosette:

doubleca5t:

reallyreallyreallytrying:

“average person eats 3 spiders a year” factoid actualy just statistical error. average person eats 0 spiders per year. Spiders Georg, who lives in cave & eats over 10,000 each day, is an outlier adn should not have been counted

An actual World Heritage Post

how does this post not have a million notes but anyone online can quote it

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

It occurs to me that I haven't yet articulated something percolating in my mind. I've never read Dracula but I have been exposed...

cherryqueenoftarts:

It occurs to me that I haven’t yet articulated something percolating in my mind. I’ve never read Dracula but I have been exposed to a (very different) stage production and the 90s movie. And I’ve seen plenty of references to it in other media and people imitating Bela Lugosi saying “I vant to suck your blood.”

Which brings me to my point. Up until recently reading Dracula Daily, I just never even questioned the concept of Dracula, and most vampires in general, wanting to hunt and kill people for their blood. Like, blood is their food; when they are hungry they want human blood, like mosquitoes or ticks or whatever.

However, since reading Lucy’s description of her experience being preyed on by Dracula, it’s made me think I have been missing Stoker’s point. And that many vampire story creators also don’t address (and they certainly don’t have to).

Dracula is feeding on Lucy’s soul. The blood is incidental. He’s draining her of herself. That’s why strength of character makes a difference. Mina has built her character, the strength of her soul, in ways Lucy was always prevented from doing. Same with the captain of the Demeter. As captain, he was a stronger character than any other crew member, so he could resist being consumed. It’s about way more than blood.

Idk if I’m conveying my epiphany very well. It’s not that the idea of vampires eating souls is new to me. It’s more that I think the blood part of it has been way overemphasized. Blood consumption has become the defining characteristic of vampires, and I think it’s not at all what Stoker was trying to convey. They are demons that consume the spirit of a person. That’s what makes what they do so evil and devastating. If it was just blood, it could be neutral in certain circumstances. But it’s not blood. It’s everything that makes a person who they are.

It’s funny how in response to all those complaints about reading comprehension [tumblr] held a seminar with literary analysis

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

Do you have a cat? And if so, do you think they would like to grow huge and eat you?

jessariel asked:

Do you have a cat? And if so, do you think they would like to grow huge and eat you?

netflix:

Not currently, although several dozen cats have ordered me around when they wanted to be fed and lived in my house over the decades, and sooner or later there will be another (the biggest difference between New York State and The Midwest seems to be that there’s no Cat Hobo signs on my door, so cats do not randomly appear, needing board and lodging). And I have no doubt that if I were small and scurrying, they would find me fun to hunt and quite possibly delicious.

@neil-gaiman

This is like seeing a cartoon character wearing the wrong clothes

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr neil gaiman

tumblr advertising "you can ask neil gaiman questions about his works!" like that isn't something you can do literally any day...

a-large-orange-cat:

tumblr advertising “you can ask neil gaiman questions about his works!” like that isn’t something you can do literally any day of the week on here

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr

this is the first song I’ve ever heard to reference tumblr Iamsu! - Hipster Girls

kontextmaschine:

this is the first song I’ve ever heard to reference tumblr

Iamsu! - Hipster Girls

Tagged: rerun tumblrtumblrtumblr is this the Twista that did a song called 'Pinterest' with Aaliyah and Brandy? platform rap

Why the fuck had tumblr set itself to Gujarati?

Why the fuck had tumblr set itself to Gujarati?

Tagged: tumblrtumblrtumblr