tumblr is gonna make more money off blaze, checkmarks, crabs, and shoelaces than it has under verizon and yahoo combined all because the users here have a sense of humour incomprehensible to most of civilisation. this website would spit on you before it’ll buy something from an ad but by GOD does it know how to spend money on bullhit
the fact that you can only like a post chain once for the entire chain, and there’s no way to tell where in the chain you inserted it except for people immediately downstream of the part you liked, is so funny to me. like first of all it’s funny because you get these back-and-forth arguments or fakepost-and-debunking threads where it’s impossible to tell a third party’s opinion from the fact that they liked it, but then also if there’s two posts in the same thread that you want to like you have to, like, unlike and like again as you see each one. it’s like okay, now it’s your turn to safeguard the Ancestral Like
Are you looking for some kind of blue check mark that Tumblr doesn’t have? Or would you like some other kind of verification symbol that Tumblr doesn’t have. Let me know which kind of verification method that Tumblr doesn’t have you’re hoping to see, and I’ll explain to you why I don’t have the particular kind of verification that Tumblr doesn’t have that you’re looking for.
Twitter threads are incomprehensible and dense and while they insist you can be “ratioed,” you technically never win a Twitter argument.
On Tumblr you can win so decisively, you force that blog to deactivate and then that post will drag around that user’s dead fucking body for all of time.
Every time you see it, it’s a victory lap around a coffin that we’ll never bury. It’s astounding.
can’t believe that the outside public perception of the stereotypical “tumblr girl” is still a skinny cis 2012 hipster who romanticizes mental illness and/or a superwholock fandom teen when the average girl actually using tumblr in 2022 is an autistic transsexual with furry tendencies
For anyone looking through the notes wondering “Why? Why would you blaze this?” This is a recreation of a very old ad back when Tumblr ads would greenlight literally anything.
Other classics include the Burrito Scope
And some REALLY odd photoshops
Since these gems no longer exist, but I, humble Tumblr user squid-ink-personal, have the capability, I figured that if the ads aren’t going to weird themselves, I’M going to weird them.
Also, the oldest record of this frog photo is this one here, from 2007. This frog pic is as old as some Tumblr users.
You didn’t think we were done talking about Dashcon, did you? We’ve heard what it was like to BE there, but what was it like to RUN Dashcon. In this episode, we talk to Lochlan O'Neil, the Tumblr user who started it all.
Credits and transcript in our reblog. You can find transcripts for this, and every other episode, here.
Find the posts discussed in this episode in this tag!
I love that “Dashcon – now that was a shitshow” is part of the official institutional history of [tumblr] now
“descendants” but instead of disney villains it’s tumblr sexymen. discuss.
actually i take back what i said in the notes. having them all be marketable cookie-cutter dolls is by far THE worst/funniest outcome. brb i gotta draw this
i’ve only drawn two and i already feel like dying
this ended up with much more of a Monster High/EAH sort of vibe due to my personal bias but.
to give the obvious metaphor: i don’t think taking any drugs should be illegal, but i also think colleges shouldn’t give a “highest heroin tolerance” scholarship and there shouldn’t be a competitive meth-taker sport where the players get paid millions of dollars
How did we not have a “methtaker” on here back in the nounverber u/n days?