i know its been years since the wars between hipster and fandom blogs but if these people try to come back we need to be ready we need to support our fandom brothers in arms because im pretty sure these people are going to try to sell us products
So I hear about things like “antis” or TERFs on here, or occasionally secondhand see stuff like k-pop fandom that is passionately about something I’m not, but I have to say I haven’t felt this much like everyone around me on the internet was fundamentally on the same side since like, 2008
Being in a tumblrina boy for twitter boy relationship has pluses such as my boyfriend trying and failing to explain “copium” in a way that sticks and me trying and failing to explain “blorbo from my shows” for 30 minutes while stuck in traffic. Love is love
Ocassionally we will ask each other “has[meme] made its way to twitter / tumblr yet?” Like two ambassadors discussing the imports and exports of nation states.
I think tumblr should add a ‘king for a day’ feature. This would do very little other than add a crown to the chosen king’s avatar (how blogs are chosen is not revealed) and enable the king to 'carcinize’ blogs, changing their avatar to a crab. I think this would be a good feature because it addresses no problems with the website and also would make some people very mad and that would be funny I think.
Tumblr is my favourite social media site because this place is literally uninhabitable for celebrities. No verification system, no algorithm that boosts their posts, it’s a completely lawless wasteland for them
Except Neil Gaiman.
Neil Gaiman goes on Tumblr to avoid writing and honestly, same.
In fairness Taylor Swift stuck around for longer than you’d expect
I mean, I talk about how the conceit of the YBWM video was perfect, that Taylor Swift is the nerdy girl next door and the bitchy popular girl, like, the next door one definitely had a [tumblr]
Tumblr is my favourite social media site because this place is literally uninhabitable for celebrities. No verification system, no algorithm that boosts their posts, it’s a completely lawless wasteland for them
Except Neil Gaiman.
Neil Gaiman goes on Tumblr to avoid writing and honestly, same.
Stop buying Apple products. I know you’ve used them for most of your life, and I know it’s inconvenient to move to a new brand because in most cases, you cannot take your contacts with you on various chat apps.
I know this is inconvenient. I truly do.
But Apple is not the company it was before. There is now no difference between an Apple computer and a Windows computer in terms of graphic design. I know this for a fact. I had to use both in college 20 years ago, and non-apple computers are now generally better for design work than Apple computers.
Most non-apple companies encourage self-repair of your own devices, while Apple refuses it. I also know this for a fact, as I watched Apple computers become slowly less reparable through the late 90s and early 2000s. Where I was once able to do the repairs on our office computers, we had to start sending out our Apple devices because they started gluing things down on their logic boards. Notably the glue they used was not heat-resistant and led to device damage should the heat sink system fail. But they did this because they wanted to dig more money out of their customers.
Apple software is also designed to fail. I cannot believe people are still buying new devices after the scandal where Apple was slowing their phones in order to force people to purchase new versions.
Apple hardware is designed to become obsolete. Motherboards and logic boards are designed to hold exactly what comes attached to them and will fail if upgrade attempts are made.
Apple refuses to work with software developers despite promises of cross-compatibility. One of the very first coding problems I discovered was to discover a gigantic hole in a software program that made a plotter (giant printer) compatible with iOS. This caused a memory leak, leading to necessary resets of the computer after every 2 feet of printing.
I know that it’s not possible for most of you to just throw your devices away and buy a new one. I wouldn’t be able to do that, either. But eventually there will come a time when you have to upgrade, and I encourage you to take the plunge and purchase a non-apple device. I don’t even have a recommendation for you because literally anything is better than Apple. A rock that you write on is better than an Apple phone.
Unfortunately I expect to be shadow-banned on Apple devices because of this, and I’ll try to report on decreased activity as much as I can.
It’s time to stop trying to beg Apple to change. They won’t. It’s time now to just stop supporting Apple.
Stop wasting your money on easily broken garbage!
I have a perfectly working iPhone 6. I got it because the iphone 7 no longer has a headphone jack and requires you to buy Apple’s shitty bluetooth headphones. Last month Apple decided they will not be updating the iphone 6 to the new iOS… for no real reason. They wil still release bug fixes but are not releasing version 13 for iphone 6.
ALL apps in the istore now require you to be on version 13 of the iOS to download the app. HOWEVER apps I’ve already installed and downloaded work perfectly.
There is literally no reason for this other to encourage consumerism and to put my perfectly working phone into a landfill.
I’m upgrading to Android as soon as I have the money.
I’ve already switched from mac to windows after Apple wanted to charge me $2000 for a macbook with only 100gigs of RAM. That’s less than a fucking PS3.
Apple Products are inherently awful, and there is literally no benefit to buying them whatsoever. Other than to look like a complete tool.
Fuck Apple.
@argumate, you asked HOW tumblr was going to use the #girl stuff to put the 2010s to bed and not vice versa? This is how. We’re the furthest upstream part of internet culture rn, remember? We’re gonna foul Apple’s reputation ‘til they cry uncle.
You guys realize the tide has already turned and “the 2010s take down tumblr with a late hit” does not make nearly as much sense as “the 2010s try to take down tumblr and shatter into pieces” right now?
i like how all the iconic posts on here are still in circulation and you’ll see them on your dash every once in a while. like the church parading its relics around town